Skip To Main Content

School Community Council (SCC)

Overview of the Duties of the School Community Council

The School Community Council (SCC) is a shared governance council formed by the parents and staff of Clayton Middle School in accordance with state law. The SCC was established in 1974 by the Salt Lake School Board, which has empowered each SCC to make decisions regarding their school as a cooperative means of improving the educational programs and conditions within that school. Its membership should represent school employees and parents or guardians of students. Ideas for discussion topics may be generated by any individual or group in the school community.

Decisions and responsibilities allocated to the SCC by Utah state statute include the following:

  • Develop a School Improvement Plan (SIP).
  • Develop the School LAND Trust Plan.  Click the link and select our school to receive a report for the current plan.
  • Assist in the development and implementation of a school professional development plan.
  • Develop and implement a child access routing plan (safe walking routes to and from school). SNAP
  • Advise and make recommendations to school and school district administrators and the local school board regarding the school and its programs, school district programs, and other issues relating to the community environment for students.
  • Develop a reading achievement plan.

The School Community Council meets in the Conference Room once per month every third Thursday at 7:30 am.  SCC is an open meeting.  

2020-2021 School Community Council Members

Dallin Miller Principal

Adrian Bancroft Assistant Principal
Mary Catherine Perry Chair
Pam Clawson Member
Ryan Bell Member
Jonathan Lerwill Member
Kalleen Wright PTA President
Marcy Jenkins School/Community Liaison
Kristy Runyan SIC Representative
Gina Williams Counselor Representative


School Community Council Meetings